Rebecca Danger

Meet Rebecca Danger!  Rebecca currently lives in Bellingham, Washington in a cute 1920’s bungalow with her husband, Mr Danger, their son and their 2 pugs, Abbey and Lucy Danger.

Image

She’ll be teaching two classes at Knit Fit! this year: Make-a-Monster Workshop: Tips and Tricks to Make Amazing Toys and Design-a-Monster Workshop.  Click here to register.

Rebecca’s next book Knit a Monster Nursery: Practical and Playful Knitted Baby Patterns is due out this November.  You can see what else she’s up to on her blog, and find her designs on Ravelry under rebeccadanger.

What are some sources of visual inspiration for you?ImageImage

I feel like life inspires me. It seems like every day there is something I see that makes me think of a monster or a toy. I have 2 pugs and I think they had some part in inspiring the “underbite” I like to give my monsters. Recently my kiddo (who’s 16 months) has started to enjoy Sesame Street, and then monsters on there are sure inspirational!

ImageWho taught you to knit?

My grandma–who passed away 2 years ago at the ripe old age of 97– taught me to knit. She taught me the first time when I was about 8, and it just didn’t stick. She tried again when I was 13, and I ended up knitting all through high school and college and beyond!

What is your biggest indulgence?

I think knitting in general is my biggest indulgence! I have a 16 month old, so I don’t get a whole lot of time to myself these days. I just love knitting and everything about it, and I feel so indulged every time I get a fancy pants new yarn, or knitting bag, or tool, or what-have-you (I just ordered 2 pairs of Signature Needles this week, so I am feeling super indulgent right now!).

Favorite yarn weight?

Sock yarn is my total favorite weight right now and I find myself trying to figure out every project I can knit in sock weight!

Most useful knitting tip you ever learned?

Knitting is supposed to be fun. Sometimes as knitters I think we get so wrapped up in everything that knitting can feel very stressful (especially when you knit for “work” like I do). I find myself reminding myself and all my knitting friends, “Remember, knitting is suppose to be fun!”

What was the catalyst that took you from knitting to design?

I ran a handmade handbag business for 7 years and only took about 3 days off in those 7 years. Needless to say, I was worn out, so I told my husband that I wanted to sit on the couch, watch movies, and knit and get paid for it. After laughing a bit, we agreed I would give knitting patterns a try for a couple months and see how I did, and here we are 3.5 years, 2 books, and some 80+ and counting designs later!

Image

Tell us about your design process.

I like to think about a design for a month or two in my head, then sketch it out and look at that for a bit, then I work from my sketch and try to make my critter match my picture. Sometimes it comes out exactly like my sketch, and sometimes I adapt the critter as I knit it.

Image

I have my second book coming out this November, which I am very excited about. It is called Knit a Monster Nursery and it is full of all the projects I made to create my son’s nursery when he was born last year. It is a nice little change of pace from my normal toy patterns and includes monster patterns, plus all kinds of blankets, and hats, and booties, and even a sweater pattern.

Leave a Reply

