Meet the Vendors: Three Fates Yarns

How did you get into this business? What is your favorite part of your job? What inspires you?

One October morning, I opened a dye kit I’d gotten for Christmas the year before; I was instantly hooked. I’m the child of a graphic arts designer and a children’s book illustrator, so it’s not too surprising.
My favorite part of dyeing is making new colors and seeing the projects people have made with my yarn. I’m constantly surprised and delighted.

I’m inspired by all sorts of things, but right now pictures of fruits and vegetables seem the most inspiring.

What is your favorite of your products and why? What new products are you excited about for Fall 2012? What can’t-miss thing will be at your booth?

Right now I’m really hooked on incendia sock – it’s an 80/10/10 merino, cashmere, nylon blend that is new to me. It’s very squishy and nearly sport weight. I’ve got it in over a repeatable dozen colors (see background.png), so you can make striping shawls to your heart’s content. I’m making a Vitamin D cardigan, so I’d look to see if it’s there. The other thing I’m working on is knitting a Suki with the eponymous sock yarn. Finally, if you are a spinner, you have to check out the little multi-color fiber kits I’ve put together. They are too cute! I’m hoping to do that for yarn by December.

Most useful knitting/crafting tip?

My favorite crafting tip right now is to double or triple yarnover when carrying up a second color for a striping shawl. (You then knit it as one stitch in the next row.) The curves in the shawl mean you need a looser edging to make the shawl relax properly.

Leave a Reply

